
Private Duty Nursing (PDN) Frequently Asked Questions 

What is the process to become a Private Duty Nurse? Contact the Program Manager and request an 

application packet. Once you receive the application packet and complete all necessary forms you can 

email, fax or mail documents to the Program Manager. Program manager will determine if all 

requirements have been met and forward application to contracting department. The contracting 

department will finalized the process and email the new contract to the applicant. 

What are the requirements to becoming a PDN? You must be an RN or LPN with a valid, unrestricted 

license in the state of Washington and have at least 1 year of nursing experience. LPNs must have 

written documentation from an RN that agrees to provide supervision. You must submit to a 

background check and not have any disqualifying convictions. You must have professional liability 

insurance and a business license. We also award PDN contracts to Adult Family Homes and Home Health 

Agencies. 

What types of health conditions can I expect to care for as a private duty nurse? PDN clients are at least 

18 years of age or older and require in-home skilled nursing care. Clients typically require the assistance 

of a ventilator, have a tracheostomy and require frequent suctioning. They may also have a g-tube for 

medication administration and nutrition. These clients require at least 4 hours of continuous nursing 

care per day. 

What is my work schedule? Each client has different needs and is authorized for the number of hours 

appropriate to meet their needs. The client you are working with will determine your work schedule.  

How many hours can I work per week? We always encourage a healthy work-life balance but there is no 

limit on the number of hours PDNs can work per week. There is a daily limit of no more than 16 hours 

per day for safety reasons.  

Can you help me find a new client? Due to privacy policies, we cannot share client information. The PDN 

program manager can help put you in contact with field staff to let them know you are looking for a PDN 

client. All individual PDN contractors can opt in and be listed on the PDN website for clients to view. 

How much do I get paid? The Washington Legislature determines the hourly rate for PDNs. The current 

rate can be found on the Rates link on the PDN website. 

Am I eligible for any benefits? Contracted providers do not receive any benefits. Vacation and other 

leave time should be negotiated directly with the client you are serving. 

Am I responsible for anything other than providing care to the client I serve? Yes, there are several 

requirements stated within the contract. Requirements that are frequently overlooked are creating care 

plans, preparing a disaster plan and daily documentation etc. Please consult the Program Manager for 

further details.  


