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STATE OF WASHINGTON
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND HEALTH SERVICES
Aging and Long-Term Support Administration
PO Box 45600, Olympia, Washington 98504-5600

April 7, 2020

ALTSA: AFH #2020-012

ALTSA: ALF #2020-014

ALTSA: NH #2020-016

ALTSA: CCRSS #2020-009

ALTSA: ICF/IID #2020-010

ALTSA: ESF #2020-009

PROCLAMATION 20-16 AND END OF LIFE SITUATIONS

Dear Provider/Administrator/Superintendent:

On March 16, 2020, the governor issued , which amended
to prohibit owners, administrators, operators, staff, contractors, and volunteers of a facility,
including friends or family to visit a resident. However, the proclamation specifically states the
prohibition on visitation does not apply to the following:
e End of life situations, including, but not limited to, families and hospice staff
e Visits by attorneys, administrative law judges, advocates or similar persons who
represent a resident
Vendors or volunteers who supply or work in a facility
e Health care teams such as doctors, behavioral health providers, hospice and home
health staff so that care and service needs of residents are met
¢ Department of Social and Health Services staff, including staff from the Developmental
Disabilities Administration and Aging and Long-Term Support Administration

All visitors who enter a facility, excluding emergency responders who are screened
when they start work and are wearing PPE, and need immediate access to the facility,
must meet the following prohibitions and requirements set out in Proclamation 20-06:
e Persons visiting in end of life situations must be screened and may not be allowed to
enter a long-term care facility if they show signs or symptoms of COVID-19.
¢ Visitors who meet the prohibition exemptions above must show identification, sign into a
visitor’s log that includes date, time in and time out, and provide their name and contact
information, including phone number and email address if available.
e Operators and staff are prohibited from destroying each day’s visitor log for 30 days.
Staff and volunteers are prohibited from working or volunteering unless screened at the
start of every shift and do not show symptoms associated with COVID-19.

Residents under a recommendation or order from the Washington State Department of Health
(DOH) or the local health jurisdiction for isolation or quarantine for COVID-19 must be isolated
in their rooms. A resident can choose to discharge from the facility at any time.

Staff and volunteers are prohibited from disclosing protected and confidential information except
as provided by law or with the consent of the resident.

Symptoms of COVID-19
e Fever of 100.4 or higher
e Cough
o Difficulty breathing


https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/proclamations/20-16%20Coronavirus%20No%20visitors%20LTC%20%28tmp%29.pdf
https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/proclamations/20-06%20Coronavirus%20%28tmp%29.pdf
https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/proclamations/20-06%20Coronavirus%20%28tmp%29.pdf
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Transmission Risks
e Contact with a person with a confirmed diagnosis of COVID-19 in the last 14 days

e Contact with a person under investigation for COVID-19

*Facilities should be checking with employees regarding any confirmed or suspected outbreaks
at any other potential place of employment.*

Sincerely,

[iee.

Candace Goehrifg, Director” .
Residential Care Services

DSHS: “Transforming Lives”




