
 

 

STATE OF WASHINGTON 

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND HEALTH SERVICES 

Aging and Long-Term Support Administration 

PO Box 45600, Olympia, Washington 98504-5600 

March 3, 2023 
 
 

ALTSA:  NH #2023-006 
EMERGENCY RULES FILED RELATED TO MINIMUM STAFFING STANDARDS IN NURSING 

HOMES (3.4 DIRECT CARE HOURS AND RN REQUIREMENTS) 
 
 
Dear Nursing Facility/Home Administrator: 
 
This message is to announce the filing of a CR-103E (Emergency Rules) amending chapter 388-97 
WAC Nursing Homes. Due to the threat of COVID-19 to our most vulnerable populations and the 
additional impact it had on healthcare staff, Governor Inslee suspended several rules during the 
public health emergency. Governor’s proclamation 20.18 suspended WAC 388-97-1080 (3) and 
(8), Nursing Services, and WAC 388-97-1090, Direct Care Hours, from March 18, 2020, through 
October 27, 2022.  
 
In 2021, the Washington State Legislature passed ESHB 1120 (Chapter 203, Laws of 2021), 
which allowed the department to adopt rules in response to the end of the governor’s 
proclamation on October 27, 2022, and granted exemptions to the requirements in RCW 
74.42.360(2) through (4), waived penalties, and suspended oversight activities for nursing 
homes. The department filed emergency rules under WSR 23-05-041 to will allow nursing 
homes to prioritize and resume minimum staffing standards and move back into compliance 
with statutory requirements by October 27, 2023. Three new sections have been created to 
temporarily supersede WAC 388-97-1080 (3) and (8) and suspend WAC 388-97-1090:  WAC 
388-97-1081, -1082, and -1091. This emergency rule is effective retroactively to October 27, 
2022 and expires June 9, 2023. The department is also undertaking rulemaking to permanently 
adopt these rules. 

What WAC 388-97-1081 says: 

• RCS suspends oversight and enforcement activities for WAC 388-97-1090 (3.4 HRD 
requirement)  

• The data from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Payroll Based 
Journal (PBJ) report will be used to calculate non-compliance.  

• The information from the PBJ report with applicable dates will be found in Quarter 4 2022 
and Quarter 1, 2023, published by May 1, 2023 (includes data from October 27, 2022, 
forward).  

• Nursing Homes will need to continue to move toward compliance with the 3.4 HRD and RN 
requirements. Please keep documented interventions for each quarter.  

• While fines will not be enforced or collected at this time, the department will calculate fines 
for nursing homes that do not meet the 3.4 HRD requirement as determined by the PBJ 
report and will send notice of those fines to the facility. A single facility may be issued up to 
two notices of non-compliance. 

• The requirement to complete the PBJ is not waived as it is a federal rule under F851. 

• RCS will provide targeted support when the notices of non-compliance are issued.  
 

https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/proclamations/20-18%20-%20COVID-19%20-%20DSHS%20Waivers%20%28tmp%29.pdf
https://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2021-22/Pdf/Bills/House%20Passed%20Legislature/1120-S.PL.pdf?q=20230224114205
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/rpau/documents/103E-23-05-041.pdf
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/rpau/documents/103E-23-05-041.pdf
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-97-1090
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What WAC 388-97-1082 says: 

• RCS suspends oversight and enforcement activity for WAC 388-97-1080(3) (Nursing 
services) related to the requirement to have a registered nurse (RN) 24-hours a day, seven 
days a week in large non-essential community nursing home providers.  

• At this time, nursing homes do not need to send a letter to RCS to request an RN Exemption 
if they do not meet the RN requirement, as this emergency rule is in effect.   

 
What WAC 388-97-1091 says: 

• Suspends oversight and enforcement activity for WAC 388-97-1080(8) (Nursing services) 
related to the requirement to have an RN 16-hours a day, seven days a week for essential 
and small non-essential community nursing home providers.  

 
Please note the following:  

• This is an overview of the rules only.  

• The new section numbers do not correlate exactly with the permanent WAC sections. This 
does not impact the implementation of the rules.  

• The operating procedure of how the second phase of the rules will be implemented will be 
sent at a later date. 

 
Thank you for your continued commitment to resident health and safety. If you have any 
questions, please contact Molly McClintock, Nursing Home Policy Program Manager, at (360) 
742-6966 or molly.mcclintock@dshs.wa.gov.  
                        

Sincerely, 

                                               
    Amy Abbott, Director 

Residential Care Services 

DSHS: “Transforming Lives” 
 

 
 
 

https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/rpau/documents/103E-23-05-041.pdf
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-97-1080
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/rpau/documents/103E-23-05-041.pdf
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-97-1080
mailto:molly.mcclintock@dshs.wa.gov

