STATE OF WASHINGTON
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND HEALTH SERVICES
Aging and Long-Term Support Administration
PO Box 45600, Olympia, Washington 98504-5600

March 8, 2024

ALTSA: NH #2024-009

REPORTING AND INSTRUCTIONS OF MINIMUM STAFFING STANDARDS 3.4 HOURS OF
DIRECT CARE PER RESIDENT DAY (HPRD) TEMPORARY INCLUSION OF PREVIOUSLY
UNREPORTED HOURS FOR STATE Q2, Q3, AND/OR Q4, 2023

Dear Nursing Facility/Home Administrator:

Nursing homes (NH) are required by the federal government in CFR §483.70(q)(1-5) to report
all staffing data to CMS, at CMS.Gov: Staffing data submission payroll based journal (PBJ) by
CMS'’s designated due date and in the format provided. This is a federal requirement that has
remained constant, with regulatory activities ongoing. A state cannot amend or change a
requirement written in federal law.

Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 388-97-1090 and RCW 74.42.360 requires each
nursing home (NH) to provide a minimum of 3.4 hours of direct care hours per resident day
(HPRD).

The department’s authority to grant exceptions ended June 30, 2018, per RCW 74.42.360.
Since WAC 388-97-1090 exceeds the departments authority RCS will be engaging in
rulemaking to correct this.

During the public health emergency, 3.4 HPRD minimum staffing requirements under WAC 388-
97-1090 were temporarily suspended. A reimplementation period followed, with targeted
support services provided, to assist nursing homes’ gradual return to full compliance. Citations
for falling below the 3.4 HPRD requirements were not issued during this time.

MB R23-049 & related DPL NH #2023-024 explained that state 3.4 HPRD regulatory actions
were to commence on October 27, 2023, for state fiscal quarter two (Q2), 2023 (April 1 — June
30, 2023) compliance.

As of state Q2, 2023 (April 1 — June 30, 2023) each nursing home has been required to remain
in compliance with the 3.4 HPRD minimum staffing requirements found in WAC 388-97-1090,
WAC Chapter 388-112B, RCW 74.42.360, & RCW 74.42.010. Regulatory activities, as outlined
in WAC 388-97-1090, were triggered if a nursing home’s HPRD calculation fell below the
quarterly 3.4 minimum staffing threshold.

To further support NHs return to compliance with state 3.4 HPRD reporting requirements, RCS
will temporarily accept written requests for retroactive inclusion of previously unreported staff,
agency, contract, and the eligible portion of GBHW hours for inclusion in the 3.4 HPRD
calculation.

This interim process will remain in effect through state Q4, 2023 (Oct 1 — Dec 31, 2023).

Nursing Homes will submit written requests, with required documentation, to:
RCSPolicy@dshs.wa.gov. The policy unit will verify hours and submit a written request to the
Office of Rates Management with eligible hours for retroactive inclusion in the 3.4 HPRD
calculation for state Q2 (April 1 — June 30, 2023), Q3 (July 1 — September 30, 2023), and/or Q4
(October 1 — December 31, 2023).



https://www.cms.gov/medicare/provider-enrollment-and-certification/guidanceforlawsandregulations/downloads/appendix-pp-state-operations-manual.pdf
https://www.cms.gov/medicare/quality/nursing-home-improvement/staffing-data-submission
https://www.cms.gov/medicare/quality/nursing-home-improvement/staffing-data-submission
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-97-1090&pdf=true
https://intra.altsa.dshs.wa.gov/docufind/MB/RCS/RCSMB2023/R23-049%20-%20Minimum%20Staffing%20Standards%203.4%20HRD%20Implementation.doc
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/ALTSA/rcs/documents/nh/023-024.pdf
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-97-1090&pdf=true
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-112B
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=74.42.360
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=74.42.010
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-97-1090&pdf=true
mailto:RCSPolicy@dshs.wa.gov
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Beginning state Q1, 2024 (January 1 — March 31, 2024) additional hours, not submitted by
deadline, will no longer be accepted for retroactive inclusion in the state 3.4 HPRD
calculation.

To comply with RULE, each nursing home must complete the following:

Ensure a minimum of 3.4 HPRD direct care minimum staffing level as required by WAC 388-
97-1090, WAC Chapter 388-112B, RCW 74.42.010, & RCW 74.42.360.

Report all mandatory data to CMS, in the format provided, by date due, at CMS.Gov:
Staffing data submission payroll based journal (PBJ). This is a federal requirement that has
remained constant with regulatory activities ongoing.

Please see MB R24-016 for requirements to include a portion of eligible Geriatric Behavioral
Health Worker (GBHW) hours in the 3.4 HRD calculation.

Data Submission Deadlines:

Timeframe: CMS Rates Deadline | Rates Receives PBJ Data
Deadline for | for submission | from CMS for Identified
submission | of eligible Quarter—Approximately:
of PBJ: (GBHW) hours:

January 1 — March 31 May 15th May 30 QOctober--5ame YT.

April 1 —June 30 August 14 August 29 January—-Subseqguent YT.

July 1 — September 30 November 14 | November 29 Apri—5Subsequent Yr.

October 1 — December 31 | February 14 | March 1 July—Subsequent Yr.

+ PBJ: Payroll Based Journal,
*  GBHW: Geriatric Behavioral Health Worker.

If a nursing home identifies additional hours, not previously submitted, for retroactive
inclusion in the 3.4 HPRD calculation for state Q2 (April 1 — June 30, 2023), Q3 (July 1 —
September 30, 2023), or Q4 (October 1 — December 31, 2023), a written request will be
submitted, with all required documentation, to RCSPolicy@dshs.wa.gov.
To accurately verify eligibility of submitted hours for retroactive inclusion in the state 3.4
HPRD calculation, all written requests must include all of the following:
o The state quarter for which retroactive inclusion of hours is being requested; and
o Explanation of circumstances resulting in hours not being submitted by deadline; and
o Total number of hours submitted by category (CMS HPRD) and/or Geriatric
Behavioral Health Worker (GBHW); and
o Complete “3.4 HPRD Staffing Data & Coding” and attach the spreadsheet attached
below; and
o If submitting GBHW hours for inclusion in the 3.4 calculation, complete and attach the
“GBHW Information & Attestation” document attached below; and
o Attach the original PBJ data submitted for the identified quarter,
Attach all payroll data for the identified quarter; and
o If additional hours were completed by agency and/or contract staff, attach related
contract and payment documents for quarter under review.

o

Beginning state Q1, 2024 (January 1 — March 31, 2024) additional hours, not submitted by
deadline, will no longer be accepted for retroactive inclusion in the state 3.4 HPRD
calculation.

Surveyors will verify the accuracy of hours submitted by:

§483.70(q)(1-5) outlines federal requirements that have remained constant, with regulatory
activities ongoing. A state cannot amend or change a requirement written in federal law. As
a result, a citation using FTAG 851 must be issued in these circumstances.



https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-97-1090&pdf=true
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-97-1090&pdf=true
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-112B
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=74.42.010
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=74.42.360
https://www.cms.gov/medicare/quality/nursing-home-improvement/staffing-data-submission
https://www.cms.gov/medicare/quality/nursing-home-improvement/staffing-data-submission
mailto:RCSPolicy@dshs.wa.gov
https://www.cms.gov/medicare/provider-enrollment-and-certification/guidanceforlawsandregulations/downloads/appendix-pp-state-operations-manual.pdf
https://www.cms.gov/medicare/provider-enrollment-and-certification/guidanceforlawsandregulations/downloads/appendix-pp-state-operations-manual.pdf
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e To comply with survey requirements outlined in federal regulation §483.70(q)(1-5),
surveyors will review PBJ data submitted to CMS to determine if the facility submitted all
mandatory PBJ data to CMS by date due and in the required format.

e Resources available for this purpose include CASPER reports, facility census, MDS, and
payroll reports.

e Ifitis determined through records review and/or nursing home self-report, that facility staff,
contract, and/or agency hours were not accurately and completely submitted to CMS, by
deadline, a citation will be issued using FTAG 851; and

¢ Notify the nursing home of citations being issued.

The Office of Rates Management will:

e Use data from CMS PBJ quarterly reports to calculate the 3.4 HPRD minimum staffing level;
and

o Adjust the 3.4 HPRD calculation by subtracting Director of Nursing (DON) hours from hours
reported to CMS when the facility has more than 60 licensed beds; and

¢ Adjust the 3.4 HPRD calculation to include eligible GBHW hours accurately submitted by
deadline to nfrates@dshs.wa.gov using Geriatric behavioral health sheets; and

e Calculate fines for non-compliance with 3.4 HPRD at the 150% or 200% level as outlined in
WAC 388-97-1090; and

The Complaint Investigator will:

Complete an onsite visit to the nursing home; and

e Gather information to determine if the facility submitted all mandatory PBJ data to CMS, by
date due and in the required format; and

o Use CASPER reports, census information, reported staff hours, and payroll data to
determine if staffing levels were constant throughout the quarter under review; and

e Gather information about any care and service-related concerns resulting from non-
compliance with the 3.4 minimum staffing requirements; and

o Ifitis determined through records review and/or nursing home self-report, that facility staff,
contract, and/or agency hours were not accurately and completely submitted to CMS, by
deadline, issue a citation using FTAG 851; and

o If additional concerns are identified during the investigation, make a referral to CRU; and
Notify the nursing home of citations being issued.

Thank you for your continued commitment to resident health and safety. If you have any
questions, please contact your local RCS Field Manager.

If you have any questions, please contact Jodi Lamoreaux, NH Policy Program Manager, at
(360)464-0487 or

Sincerely,
0w47 s

Amy Abbott, Director
Residential Care Services

DSHS: “Transforming Lives”


https://www.cms.gov/medicare/provider-enrollment-and-certification/guidanceforlawsandregulations/downloads/appendix-pp-state-operations-manual.pdf
https://www.cms.gov/medicare/provider-enrollment-and-certification/guidanceforlawsandregulations/downloads/appendix-pp-state-operations-manual.pdf
mailto:nfrates@dshs.wa.gov
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/ALTSA/msd/documents/Quarterly%203%204%20Reporting%20Template%20-%20Behavioral%20Health%20hours%20for%20facilitie....xlsx
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-97-1090&pdf=true
https://www.cms.gov/medicare/provider-enrollment-and-certification/guidanceforlawsandregulations/downloads/appendix-pp-state-operations-manual.pdf
mailto:Jodi.Lamoreaux1@dshs.wa.gov

