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What should we do if the genetic testing report says the
person tested is the biological father/parent?

If the genetic testing shows the person is the biological father/parent of

the child, you may sign an Acknowledgment of Parentage at a county vital
records office, a hospital or a DCS office. Signing the Acknowledgment of
Parentage is voluntary, and the signatures on the form must be notarized or
witnessed. If you file the Acknowledgment of Parentage on your own, the
Department of Health requires a filing fee, but DCS may pay the filing fee if
you bring or send the form to DCS. DCS staff may notarize or witness your
signatures if you have proper identification.

If you need help getting or completing an Acknowledgment of Parentage
form, call DCS at 1-800-442-KIDS (5437) or see the back of the “Establish
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Call the DCS Voluntary Paternity Testing Program information line at
1-800-285-1892. You may be asked to leave a short message and tell us a
convenient time to call you back.
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Who qualifies for the Voluntary Paternity Testing
Program?

A mother/birth parent, child and possible biological father/parent may
qualify for genetic testing at no cost if all the following are true:

1 The child was born in Washington.
1 The child is younger than 2 years old.

[ The mother/birth parent was not married at the time of the child’s
birth and the child was born no later than 300 days after the marriage
terminated.

1 There is no second parent named on the child’s birth certificate.

1 An Acknowledgment of Parentage has not been completed and filed
with the Washington State Department of Health.

1 Acourt has not legally established parentage for the child.

[ Both the mother/birth parent and possible father/parent are at least 18
years old.

1 Both the mother/birth parent and possible father/parent are considering
whether to sign a voluntary Acknowledgment of Parentage form.

1 Both the mother/birth parent and possible father/parent agree to
participate in the program.

If you have questions about whether or not you qualify for voluntary genetic
testing, please call the DCS voluntary paternity testing information line at
1-800-285-1892.

What is a paternity test?

A paternity test is a scientific test used to determine whether someone is,

or is not, the biological father/parent of a child. A cheek swab is collected

from the child, the mother/birth parent and the possible father/parent. The
genetic samples are sent to a laboratory for testing. The lab issues a final

report.

Why does the Division of Child Support offer free
voluntary genetic testing?

Under Washington law, parents may sign an Acknowledgment of Parentage
to establish legal parentage for their child. When unmarried parents choose
to sign an Acknowledgment of Parentage without first having genetic testing
to confirm the biological father/parent, they may have doubts. DCS helps
settle the question of the child’s biological father/parent early in the child’s
life by offering genetic testing to unmarried parents who are interested in
establishing parentage.

For more information about voluntarily acknowledging parentage, please refer
to the Acknowledgment of Parentage, the “Establish Parentage for Your Child’s
Sake” brochure, the parentage video linked in the QR code on the back page
of this brochure, or call the parentage information line at 1-800-356-0463.
You may also wish to consult with an attorney.

If we request voluntary genetic testing, will DCS
automatically open a case to collect child support?

No. A request for no-cost voluntary genetic testing or signing an
Acknowledgment of Parentage form does not cause DCS to open up a case
for child support automatically. DCS opens a case for child support only if the
child goes on public assistance, or if the custodial or noncustodial parent of the
child applies for child support services. To ask DCS to provide child support
services for your child, call DCS at 1-800-442-KIDS (5437) or visit www.
childsupportonline.wa.gov.

If the child does go on public assistance, or a custodial or noncustodial parent
of the child applies for child support services, DCS may stop paternity testing
through the voluntary testing process and refer your case to the prosecuting
attorney’s office to establish parentage in court.

Other situations may lead DCS to transfer a case to the prosecutor to establish
parentage. If someone is excluded as the father/parent by genetic testing
through the Voluntary Paternity Testing Program, DCS may refer the mother/
birth parent and child to the prosecutor for a possible parentage action in
court. If the prosecutor files an action, you may be required to pay some costs.

How do we apply for a free voluntary genetic test?

Both the mother/birth parent and the possible father/parent must agree to be
tested. Complete the postage-paid application form on this brochure, tear it
off, fold it and mail it to DCS. Once your application is received, DCS will check
your child’s birth information with birth records filed with the Department

of Health. A representative from DCS will contact one of you to review your
application.

If you qualify for services, DCS will schedule you for testing. DCS will send you
a letter telling you the time and place for your test. The mother/birth parent,
possible father/parent and child must all go to a testing location where the test
is administered. Proper identification is required, including photo identification
for the adults.

Will we receive the test results?

Yes. The lab sends a report to both the mother/birth parent and the possible
father/parent.
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Date of Birth

Possible Father/Parent’s Name

First

Phone Number

day year

month

Last

Middle

Alt. Phone

Apt. #

Address

)

Email Address:

Zip code

State

City

Date of Birth

Mother/Birth Parent’s Name

First

Phone Number

day year

month

Last

Middle

Alt. Phone

Apt. #

Address (if same as the possible father/parent’s, write “same”)

)

Email Address:

Zip Code

State

City

Date of Birth

Child’s Name

First

day year

month

Last

Middle

Name of hospital where the child was born:

Possible Father/Parent

Mother/Birth Parent

Whom should we call if we need to ask questions?

By signing below, | agree that | have read this booklet. | knowingly and voluntarily acknowledge that the Division of Child Support and its partners may use application information,

interview information, all genetic testing paperwork including the chain of custody, any genetic samples taken to be used in a subsequent paternity action, and genetic test
results. | understand that if a paternity case is referred to court, | may be responsible for paying genetic testing costs if the court requires it or if a re-test is required by the Court

Laboratories do genetic testing during daytime hours Monday through Friday.
and/or prosecuting attorney.

Please refer us for a voluntary no-cost genetic test.

Date

Mother/Birth Parent’s Signature

Date

Possible Father/Parent’s Signature

For staff use only

Notes:

Referral Number:

4

Detach this form, fold and seal for return mail
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