

Washington State Liquor Control Board

Marijuana What Parents Should Know

Most youth choose not to use marijuana. However, some will try it, and some will continue to use it.

Brain development continues through age 25. The use of any drug, including marijuana, can impair brain development.

Marijuana use increases risk of academic problems. Marijuana's effect on learning, memory, and motivation can lead to difficulties in school.

Talk Early. Talk Often.

- You are the number one influence in your child's life.
- Talk early and talk often about making the right choices.
- Set expectations.
- **Discuss rules and enforce** consequences.

For more information about marijuana: www.Learn About MarijuanaWA.org or www.drugfree.org



To contact the WSLCB email: prevention@liq.wa.gov

If someone you know is struggling with substance use, call:

Washington Recovery Help Line at 1.866.789.1511

To obtain this publication in an alternative format, contact the agency ADA coordinator at (360) 664-1783.

DSHS 22-1558 (Rev. 10/14)



Washington State Department of Social & Health Services

Transforming lives

Washington State Liquor Control Board

Marijuana Know the Facts

Marijuana is not harmless.

Marijuana impairs coordination and perception, affects learning and memory, and can increase anxiety, panic and paranoia. Research shows one in eight youth who use marijuana by age 14 become dependent.

Some of the risks of smoking marijuana vs. consuming marijuana-infused foods are

different. Inhaling any kind of smoke harms your lungs. Consuming marijuana-infused foods can also be dangerous because it takes longer to feel the effects. It's easier to have too much because the effects are delayed.

Recreational marijuana use has age

restrictions. Only those 21 and older can possess marijuana, with a limit of 1 ounce of useable marijuana, 16 ounces in solid form, 72 ounces in liquid form, and 7 grams of concentrate.

Where you can use marijuana is limited.

Marijuana cannot be used in view of the public. It is also not allowed on federal and most tribal lands.

The penalites for marijuana use for those under 21 can be severe. If you are under 21, you can be charged with Minor in Possession. If you have more than 40 grams, it is a Class "C" felony (\$10,000 fine and/or 10 years in jail).

It's not okay for parents to share marijuana with their kids. It is a felony to provide marijuana to any minor.