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Purpose 
 
This policy outlines the Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) requirements for 
holidays and leave procedures supplementing chapter 357-31 WAC.  
 
Scope 
 
This policy applies to all DSHS classified employees not covered by a collective bargaining 
agreement. All provisions of this policy also apply to civil service exempt employees. 
 
Additional Guidance  
 
Administrative policies  

• 09.16 emergency closures, delayed openings, and suspension of operations 
• 18.26 disability reasonable accommodation 
• 18.31.01 family medical leave act; paid family medical leave; and parental leave 
• 18.31.02 shared leave and leave pools 
• 18.40 discipline 
• 18.67 workplace domestic violence/reasonable safety 

https://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=41.06
https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=41.06.570#:%7E:text=%281%29%20All%20executive%20agencies%20shall%20allow%20employees%20to,use%20of%20leave%20without%20pay%20is%20not%20required.
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=357
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-40
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-46
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31
https://ofm.wa.gov/state-human-resources/labor-relations/collective-bargaining-agreements
https://ofm.wa.gov/state-human-resources/labor-relations/collective-bargaining-agreements
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/office-of-the-secretary/dshs-administrative-policies
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• 18.85 breastfeeding in the workplace 
• 18.87 modern and mobile workplace  
• 18.88 infants at work program 
• 18.90 workplace pregnancy accommodation 
• 19.10 travel policies 
• 19.25.06 time limitations on employee requested leave adjustments 
• 19.25.09 shared leave 
• 19.25.41 foster parent shared leave program 

DSHS 03-421 Leave request 
DSHS 03-519 Request to extend annual leave balance over 280-hour maximum 

 
Definitions: 
 
Classified employee: Employees in Washington general service and Washington management 
service that are subject to the provisions of Revised Code of Washington, chapter 41.06 RCW. 
 
Domestic violence: As defined by RCW 26.50.010.  
 
Exempt employee: An employee who is exempt from the civil service rules, title 357 WAC.  
DSHS exempt positions are those falling under RCW 41.06.070 and RCW 41.06.076. 
 
Family care emergency: Minor and dependent child emergencies such as the unexpected 
absence of a regular care provider, unexpected closure of child's school, unexpected need to 
pick up child at school earlier than normal; or elder care emergencies such as the unexpected 
absence of a regular care provider or unexpected closure of an assisted living facility. 
 
Family member:  

1) Includes parent, stepparent, sibling, parent-in-law, spouse, registered domestic partner, 
grandparent, grandchild, minor or dependent child, and child.  

2) For purposes of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking provisions within title 357 
WAC, in addition to subsection (1), family member also includes a registered domestic 
partner or a person with whom the employee has a dating relationship as defined in 
RCW 49.76.020.  

3) For the purpose of using accrued sick leave under WAC 357-31-130, in addition to 
subsection (1), family member also includes any individual who also regularly resides in 
the employee’s home or where the relationship creates an expectation that the 
employee care for the person, and that depends on the employee for care.   
 
Family member does not include an individual who simply resides in the same home 
with no expectation that the employee cares for the individual.  

 
Official duty station:  Driven by the unique facility identifier (UFI), the official duty station 
represents the location of a position’s assigned, permanent state facility worksite (if a state 

https://forms.dshs.wa.lcl/
https://forms.dshs.wa.lcl/
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=41
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=26.50.010
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=41.06.070
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=41.06.076
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=357
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=357
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.76.020
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-130
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owned or leased facility), field assignment city/state, or home-based city/state. The employee’s 
official duty station is assigned by the appointing authority. 
 
Program’s approved leave submittal method: Depending on the administration or program, 
the employee must submit their leave request using the DSHS 03-421 form or use the approved 
time and attendance reporting system (Leave Tracker or SILAS). 
 
Registered domestic partner: Two adults who meet the requirements for a valid state 
registered domestic partnership under RCW 26.60.030 and who have been issued a certificate 
of state registered domestic partnership by the secretary of state’s office. 
 
Sexual assault: As defined by RCW 70.125.030.  
 
Stalking: As defined by RCW 9A.46.110. 
 
Policy  
 
A. Holidays 
 

1. The days indicated under WAC 357-31-005 are designated as holidays. 
 

2. Employees qualify for holiday compensation as provided in WAC 357-31-010. 
 

3. Employees may receive holiday premium pay as provided under WAC 357-28-200. 
 

4. The provisions that apply to holidays for employees include WAC 357-31-005 
through WAC 357-31-053. 

 
B. Personal holiday 
 

1. Employees are allowed to take a personal holiday as provided in WAC 357-31-055.   
 

2. The other provisions that apply to personal holidays are found in WAC 357-31-060 
through WAC 357-31-095. 

 
C. Requesting leave 
 

1. Employees are expected to submit leave requests for both planned and unplanned 
leave.  
 

2. Requests for planned leave must be submitted in advance using the program’s 
approved leave submittal process and consistent with the program’s leave notice 
requirements. 

https://forms.dshs.wa.lcl/
https://stateofwa.sharepoint.com/:u:/r/sites/DSHS-EXE-HR/SitePages/Submit-a-Leave-Request.aspx?csf=1&web=1&e=AEZGZM
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=26.60.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=70.125.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9A.46.110
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-005
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-010
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-28-200
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-005
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-053
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-055
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-060
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-095
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3. When advance notice cannot be given because of an emergency or unforeseen 

circumstances such as family care emergencies, domestic violence, sexual assault, or 
stalking, or an extraordinary or severe illness or injury, the employee or the 
employee’s designee must give notice to DSHS no later than the end of the first day 
that the employee takes such leave. 

 
4. If an employee takes unplanned leave, the employee must submit a leave request 

immediately upon return to work. Failure to submit a leave request may result in 
unauthorized leave without pay, which may result in disciplinary action.  
 

5. Employees must submit leave requests using one-tenth (1/10) of an hour 
increments. 
 

6. Proof of a family emergency may be required to verify the need for the leave or that 
advanced notice was not possible. WAC 357-31-305. 

 
D. Appointing authority or designee, including supervisor approval or denial of leave, and  
     responsibilities 
 

1. If the employee does not have sufficient leave to cover the absence, the appointing 
authority or designee, including their supervisor, must deny the leave request.  
 

2. Employees are not entitled to use sick leave before it accrues. WAC 357-31-140. 
 

3. Employees are not entitled to use vacation leave before it accrues. WAC 357-31-195. 
 

4. When reviewing a request for vacation leave, consider the preferences of the 
employee, but also take into consideration the organization’s business needs.  WAC 
357-31-205.  

 
5. An appointing authority or designee, including a supervisor, may grant an 

employee’s request to use vacation leave for religious observances.  The 
organization’s business needs may be considered. 
 

6. An appointing authority or designee, including the supervisor, may deny the use of 
compensatory time or vacation leave for sick leave purposes if the employee has 
documented attendance problems. 
 

7. If an employee is absent at the end of the pay cycle, the appointing authority or 
designee, including supervisor, must submit a leave request on behalf of the 
employee for time and attendance processing. 
 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-305
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-140
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-195
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-205
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-205
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8. If an employee’s request for parental leave time off exceeds the provisions of WAC 
357-31-525, the appointing authority or designee, including the supervisor, must 
respond in writing to the employee’s request within 10 working days of the receipt 
of the request. If the leave is denied, the appointing authority or designee, including 
the supervisor must provide a rationale for supporting the operational necessity.  
WAC 357-31-485. 

 
E. Unauthorized leave  

 
Under WAC 357-31-105, an unauthorized absence will be treated as unauthorized leave 
without pay and may be grounds for separation (WAC 357-46-210), or discipline (See 
DSHS administrative policy 18.40 discipline and chapter 357-40 WAC.)  

 
F. Sick and vacation leave accrual 
 

1. See WAC 357-31-115 through WAC 357-31-125; and WAC 357-31-165 through WAC 
357-31-180, which provide how sick and vacation leave are earned, accrued, and 
prorated. 

 
2. Leave without pay does not affect the rate at which employees accrue vacation 

leave. WAC 357-31-180. 
 

3.  An employee may accumulate a maximum of 280 hours of vacation leave under 
WAC 357-31-200. There are two exceptions in which vacation leave may be 
accumulated above the 280 hours maximum under WAC 357-31-215. 

a. If DSHS denies an employee’s request for vacation leave, and the employee is 
close to the maximum vacation leave (280 hours), DSHS must grant an 
extension for each month that DSHS defers the employee's request for 
vacation leave. DSHS must justify the extension with a statement of necessity 
using the DSHS 03-519 request to extend annual leave balance over 280 
hours maximum. The DSHS 03-519 must be approved by the HRD senior 
director or designee. A statement of necessity can only defer leave that the 
employee has not accrued as of the date of the statement of necessity using 
the DSHS 03-519. Any accrued leave more than 280 hours as of the date of 
the statement of necessity cannot be deferred regardless of circumstances 

b. Employees may accumulate vacation leave more than the maximum vacation 
leave (more than 280 hours) as follows: 

i. An employee may accumulate the vacation leave between the time 
280 hours is accrued and their next anniversary date.  

ii. Leave accumulated above the maximum 280 hours must be used by 
the next anniversary date or is automatically lost and considered 
never to have existed.  

 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-525
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-525
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-485
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-105
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-46-210
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/office-of-the-secretary/dshs-administrative-policies
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-40
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-115
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-125
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-165
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-180
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-180
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-180
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-210
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-215
https://forms.dshs.wa.lcl/
https://forms.dshs.wa.lcl/
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G. When paid leave, compensatory time, or leave without pay must be approved 
 

1. Unless otherwise stated accrued paid leave time must be approved: 
a. If the employee has a spouse or registered domestic partner who: 

i. Is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States that has been 
called to active duty; or 

ii. The military spouse or registered domestic partner is on leave from 
deployment; and  

iii. The conditions of WAC 357-31-373 apply.  
b. If an employee has been ordered to required military duty, training, drills, or 

required to appear for a physical exam under WAC 357-31-360.In addition to 
paid military leave, an employee must be granted a leave of absence without 
pay under the conditions in WAC 357-31-370. 

c. If an employee is unable to report to work due to a family care emergency 
under WAC 357-31-285(1). A family care emergency is defined under WAC 
357-31-290 

d. For the miscellaneous reasons stated in WAC 357-31-325. 
e. For an employee to take a temporary leave of absence when an employee 

has been elected or appointed to a legislative office under WAC 357-31-374. 
i. The employee must provide the appointing authority or their 

designee, including their supervisor, at least 30 days prior notice for a 
regular session or as soon as a session is called for a special session. 

ii. The employee may use unpaid or accrued paid leave. 
f. If the conditions stated in WAC 357-31-200, (to care for themselves, a 

spouse, or child with a serious medical condition; they or a family member 
are a victim of domestic violence, etc.) are met, vacation leave must be 
approved. 

g. If the conditions stated in WAC 357-31-230 (to care for themselves, a spouse, 
or child with a serious medical condition; they or a family member are a 
victim of domestic violence, etc.) are met, compensatory time must be 
approved. 

h. If the conditions stated in WAC 357-31-327 (volunteer firefighter called to 
assist with a natural disaster, paid family medical leave (PFML) or family 
medical leave act (FMLA) leave, high risk employee seeks accommodation to 
protect themselves from risk of exposure to an infectious disease, etc.) are 
met, leave without pay must be approved. 

i. If the conditions stated in WAC 357-31-327 are met, the secretary or 
appointing authority must approve shared leave. 

j. If a permanent employee is sick or temporarily disabled because of 
pregnancy or childbirth: 

i. A request to use sick leave must be granted. 
ii. An employee may also use leave for the loss of a pregnancy as 

provided in WAC 357-31-248. 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-373
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-360
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-370
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-285
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-290
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-290
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-325
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-374
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-200
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-230
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31&full=true#357-31-327
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-447
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=357-31-248
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iii. An employee may also use bereavement leave as provided in WAC 
357-31-250. Pregnancy disability leave, under the Pregnant Workers 
Fairness Act, is in addition to the up to 12 weeks of FMLA leave.  See 
DSHS administrative policy 18.90 pregnancy workplace 
accommodation. 

iv. The appointing authority or designee may require verification to 
support the request for parental or pregnancy leave if it does not 
result in an unreasonable burden or expense for the employee or 
violate the Pregnant Workers Fairness Act. 

 
H. Allowable uses of leave 
 

1. An employee is allowed to use a reasonable amount of accrued leave or unpaid leave 
when the employee is a victim or has a family member as defined in chapter 357- 01 
WAC, who is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking as defined in 
RCW 49.76.020. 

 
2. An employee who sustains a work-related injury or illness that is compensable under 

the workers' compensation law may choose to receive time-loss compensation 
exclusively, use accrued paid leave exclusively or combine time loss compensation 
and accrued paid leave. See WAC 357-31-235 and WAC 357-31-245. 

 
3. DSHS may grant leave with pay for an employee to perform civil duties as a 

volunteer including but not limited to: 
a. Firefighting; 
b. Providing search and rescue efforts; 
c. Providing life-giving procedures, but not to exceed 30 days in a two-year 

period.  See RCW 41.06.570 and WAC 357-31-325; and 
d. Donating blood or plasma, but not to exceed five days in a two-year period.  

WAC 357-31-326. 
 

4. An employee is allowed to use paid vaccination leave to receive the COVID-19 
vaccine or booster during their scheduled work shift/time at a non-DSHS workplace. 
The employee must work with their appointing authority or designee, including their 
supervisor, to coordinate and obtain approval for the paid vaccination leave. They 
may take a reasonable amount of leave with pay to travel and receive each dose of 
the COVID-19 immunization if the vaccine is not offered at their DSHS workplace. 
 

5. A high-risk employee seeking an accommodation to protect themselves from the risk 
of exposure to an infectious or contagious disease is allowed to use their accrued 
leave if their appointing authority, designee, or supervisor, determines no other 
accommodation is reasonable besides the use of leave. They may require that the 
employees request be supported by verification or documentation. 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-250
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-250
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title42-section2000gg&num=0&edition=prelim
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title42-section2000gg&num=0&edition=prelim
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/office-of-the-secretary/dshs-administrative-policies
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?path=/prelim@title42/chapter21G&edition=prelim
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-01
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.76.020
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-235
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-245
https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=41.06.570#:%7E:text=%281%29%20All%20executive%20agencies%20shall%20allow%20employees%20to,use%20of%20leave%20without%20pay%20is%20not%20required.
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-325
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-326
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-326
https://stateofwa.sharepoint.com/sites/DSHS-EXE-HR/SitePages/COVID-Vaccination-Leave.aspx


Administrative Policy No. 18.31.00 
January 27, 2025 
Page 8 
 

 
I. Use of sick leave 
 

1. For anticipated sick leave absences, such as medical appointments, the employee 
must submit a request for leave using the program’s approved leave submittal 
process before the anticipated absence. 

a. If a request cannot be submitted prior to the absence, an employee must 
promptly notify their appointing authority, designee, or supervisor, on the 
first day of sick leave and each day thereafter, unless there is mutual 
agreement to do otherwise. 

b. Upon returning to work after using unanticipated sick leave, the employee 
must immediately submit a leave request. Failure to do so may result in 
disciplinary action. 

 
3. An employee may use sick leave as part of their request for parental leave for up to 

18 weeks during the first year after the child's birth or placement. WAC 357-31-133. 
 

4. An employee on vacation leave may use accrued sick leave when a condition under 
WAC 357-31-130 arises while they are on approved vacation leave.  If the employee 
wishes to use accrued sick leave to replace the vacation leave already approved, the 
employee must notify their appointing authority or designee using the standards 
under Section C of this policy. 

 
5. An appointing authority or their designee, including their supervisor, may require an 

employee to provide verification that the sick leave was used for an authorized 
purpose for absences exceeding three days under WAC 296-128-660. 

a. The employees will have up to 10 days to provide the verification. 
b. The verification cannot require disclosure of the health condition. 
c. Providing verification cannot result in an unreasonable burden or expense for 

the employee.  
d. Any health information that is provided will be treated as confidential. 

 
6. If the employee has documented attendance problems, an appointing authority or 

designee may deny the use of compensatory time or vacation leave for sick leave 
purposes. 

 
J. Bereavement leave 
 

1. An employee may request up to  five days bereavement leave if an employee's 
family member or household member dies. WAC 357-31-250. 
 

2. In addition to paid bereavement leave, an employee may request to use paid leave 
or to take leave without pay for purposes of bereavement. 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=357-31-133
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-130
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=296-128-660
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-250
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3. The appointing authority or designee, including the supervisor, may request that the 

employee provide verification of the family member or household member’s death. 
 
K. Inclement weather 
 

1. When the secretary or designee determines inclement weather conditions exist, 
refer to DSHS administrative policy 09.16 emergency closures and suspension of 
operations. DSHS employees are responsible for arranging how they travel to 
and from work.  

 
2. If a work location remains fully operational but an employee is unable to report 

to work or remain at work because of severe inclement weather or conditions 
caused by severe inclement weather, the employee's leave will be charged in the 
following order: 
a. Any earned compensatory time or previously accumulated exchange time. 
b. Any accrued vacation leave. 
c. Any accrued sick leave, up to a maximum of three days in any calendar year. 
d. Leave without pay. 

 
3. The paid leave types are used in the order listed within subsection two of this 

section, and each type of paid leave is exhausted before using another type of 
leave. Employees are permitted to use leave without pay rather than vacation or 
sick leave.  

 
4. Employees at the special commitment center will be granted up to two hours of 

paid time for severe inclement weather. 
 

5. When severe inclement weather prevents an employee in official travel status 
from returning to their official duty station or residence, the employee remains 
in official travel status. The employee must notify their supervisor of the inability 
to return from travel status.  Travel costs are reimbursed per department DSHS 
and Office of Financial Management travel policies. See DSHS administrative 
policies chapter 19.10 regarding travel and reimbursement. 

 
6. Appointing authorities have delegated authority to authorize reimbursement of 

costs for lodging and per diem for employees who are asked to remain close to 
their work site during severe inclement weather.  

 
7. The local administrator or designee may allow employees to use options listed in 

the DSHS administrative policy 18.87 modern and mobile workplace during 
inclement weather. 

 

https://www.dshs.wa.gov/office-of-the-secretary/dshs-administrative-policies
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/office-of-the-secretary/dshs-administrative-policies
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/office-of-the-secretary/dshs-administrative-policies
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L. Leave without pay 
 

1. Leave without pay (LWOP) may be granted to an employee for the reasons 
stated in WAC 357-31-330. LWOP must be approved by the appointing authority 
or their designee. 

 
2. Leave without pay must be approved for an employee on approved PFML who is 

not using paid leave as a supplemental benefit. During a public health 
emergency, a high-risk employee seeking an accommodation to protect 
themselves from the risk of exposure to an infectious or contagious disease must 
be allowed to use leave without pay if their appointing authority or designee 
determines no other accommodation is reasonable besides the use of leave in 
accordance with RCW 49.17.062; 
 

3. Leave without pay is limited to 12 months in any consecutive five-year period, 
except for: 
a. Compensable work-related injury or illness.  
b. Educational leave. 
c. Government service. 
d. Military leave.  
e. Seasonal career employment leave. 
f. Approved leave under FMLA or PFML. 
g. Leave taken voluntarily to reduce the effect of a layoff.  
h. Leave authorized in advance by an appointing authority or designee, as part 

of a plan to reasonably accommodate a person with a disability. 
 

4. The appointing authority or designee may require verification supporting the 
request for leave without pay. 

 
5. Leave without pay affects an employee’s probationary and trial service period 

(WAC 357-31-355), step M (WAC 357-31-357), and seniority date (WAC 357-31-
350 and WAC 357-46-055). 
 

6. Employees returning from authorized leave without pay must be employed in 
the same position or a similar position in the same class and in the same 
geographical area, provided that such return to employment is not in conflict 
with rules relating to layoff or reasonable accommodation. (See DSHS 
administrative policy 18.26 disability reasonable accommodation.) WAC 357-31-
340. 
 

M. Family care emergency leave 
 

https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31&full=true#357-31-330
https://app6.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?Cite=49.17&full=true#49.17.062
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-355
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-357
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-350
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-350
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-46-055
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/office-of-the-secretary/dshs-administrative-policies
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-340
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-340
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1. An employee must be allowed to take family care emergency leave to care for the 
employee’s spouse, registered domestic partner, household member, or 
employee’s/spouse’s/registered domestic partner’s minor or dependent child, 
parent, or grandparent. Leave may be authorized to care for other family members, 
including children over the age of 18 who are incapable of self-care.  See WAC 357-
31-285 through WAC 357-31-290. 
 

2. Advance notice is not required for family care emergency leave.  However, the 
employee must notify the appointing authority or designee at the beginning of the 
absence. 

 
3. The employee is required to exhaust all accrued compensatory time and holiday 

time before using other types of leave. WAC 357-31-295.  Each year, an employee 
may use up to three days for family care emergency leave using of any combination 
of vacation, sick, or leave without pay.  An appointing authority or designee has 
discretion to authorize more than three days of leave in those categories. WAC 357-
31-300. 
 

4. The appointing authority or designee may require verification of the need to take 
family care emergency leave and the situation if advance notice was not possible. 
WAC 357-31-305. 

 
N. Miscellaneous leave 
 

1. The appointing authority or designee must grant a leave of absence with pay when 
an employee is required to report for jury duty service. The employee may be 
required to provide documentation or verification of jury service. Employees are 
allowed to keep any compensation they receive for serving as a member of a jury in 
addition to their regular pay. 
 

2. The appointing authority or designee must grant a leave of absence with pay for an 
employee to respond to a subpoena when the employee has been subpoenaed to 
appear on behalf of DSHS; or the subpoena is for a legal proceeding that is unrelated 
to the personal or financial matters of the employee. WAC 357-31-320. 

 
3. The appointing authority or designee must grant leave without pay under WAC 357-

31-325 to allow an employee to receive an assessment from the employee 
assistance program. 

 
4. The appointing authority or designee must grant leave under WAC 357-31-325 when 

an employee is scheduled to participate in an interview for a position with a state 
employer during scheduled work hours.  

https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-285
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-285
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-290
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-295
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-300
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-300
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-305
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-320
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-325
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-325
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-325


Administrative Policy No. 18.31.00 
January 27, 2025 
Page 12 
 

a. Appointing authorities may limit the number of occurrences or the total 
amount of paid leave that is granted to an employee to participate in an 
interview during scheduled work hours.  

b. Appointing authorities may deny an employee's request to participate in an 
interview during scheduled work hours based upon operational necessity. 
 

5. The appointing authority or designee may grant up to 24 hours per occurrence of leave with 
pay under WAC 357-31-326 to employees who are experiencing extraordinary or severe 
impacts of a wildfire disaster in the event the governor declares a state of emergency in any 
area of the state of Washington where the employee resides. The appointing authority or 
designee may require verification of the extraordinary or severe impacts regarding the use of 
leave with pay. In order to ensure continued essential services to the public, the appointing 
authority or designee may consider emergency operations requirements and/or program and 
staffing replacement requirements in the approval and scheduling of wildfire leave. Wildfire 
leave must be used within three months from the date the emergency was declared. 
 
O. Reinstatement of leave 
 

1. Former employees who are reemployed within five years of separation from state 
service will be restored unused sick leave credits to which they were entitled at the 
time of their separation from state service. DSHS does not restore sick leave credit 
for employees separated from state service beyond five years.  

  
1 Updates to include bereavement leave for loss of pregnancy, increase leave allowance up to five days, 
and add leave for severe impacts of wildfire disaster. 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=357-31-326

